RIDING IN FAST CARS WITH BOYS

Leave a comment
Scouted Stories

When it comes to seeking adrenaline filled experiences, I’m not generally the kind of girl to say no. Unless it is bungy jumping – no way am I putting my trust in an elastic band and plunging head first down to earth. But I will put my trust in underwater metal cages, ropes hanging off the side of mountains and a friend who knows how to drive – fast.

My friend and I ventured out past Ipswich to the Queensland Raceway; where our stop at the local service station was scarier than anything on the raceway (Brisbane readers will understand). Trying to act cool in our pale blue Mazda2 we managed to find our way to our friend who was set up in the pits. Ranging from cars that were just holding together to a car worth half a million, it really was another world out on the raceway with the drifting fanatics.

They say adrenaline is the best kind of drug, but it takes more than guts to be able to drive like the guys (and 10 girls) out on the track. It takes a lot of skill. According to trusty Google, drifting is “a driving style in which the driver uses throttle, brakes, clutch, gear shifting and steering input to keep the car in a condition of oversteer while manoeuvring from turn to turn.” Just reading that makes my head want to explode.

Good thing I was only a passenger.

IMG_0085IMG_0087 IMG_0088 IMG_0090 IMG_0093

Leave a comment